See the signs

Well folks, I am taking a short breather from chasing grand landscapes, native wildlife and sky portraits.

After clocking up chunks of kilometres and restless for some familiarity, it’s always nice to land back in Melbourne.

Roosting in my nest, contemplating the small things in life.

Because engaging in the most mundane activity can produce some very enlightening moments (for me, at least).

Like when a word or a phrase that’s eluded me at the computer suddenly pops into my head doing the ironing.

Or when a song comes on the radio and a reflective wave washes over me.

When I’m out and about, footpath signs that put a smile on my face remind me to always have a reason to laugh more.

DSC08151a
There is no beating about the bush at this overstocked florist in country Hamilton.
DSC04649a
This country cafe in Trentham had better not run out of coffee.
DSC08320a
A curry night at this inner-city cafe in Westgarth could leave patrons mesmerised.
DSC04715a
People were wondering why I laughed out loud at this inner-city waxing salon in Balaclava.
sign
Something tells me a hair-raising experience awaits at this barber in Hamilton.
catgetsit
I just love Kiwis and their kooky sense of humour. This bar in Lyttelton, New Zealand, makes the best of its new digs in a recycled shipping container post-2011 earthquake.
sign2
The family name is given a witty twist on this sign outside a shop in Koroit.
DSC08199a
I previously shared this image photographed outside an Irish country pub in Koroit. I love it so much I’m sharing it again.
happy
Not exactly signage, but what the heck. Whoever wrote this on a fence in Clayton was having a good day. And proud to share their little moment.

As for the featured picture on this blog’s header, I spotted the Horny Goat Pie sign in Te Anau, New Zealand.

I had drifted into the sleepy lakeside town early one morning during a visit to the South Island last autumn.

Alas, I never got to satisfy my curiosity about what made the pies so unique. The bakery was shut.

Leave a comment