My close encounter with a koala (but not in a zoo)

A koala sighting in the wild is as rare as a good hair day for Donald Trump.

Having read that there were more koalas than you can poke a stick at in Mt Eccles, I had great hopes of seeing these cute creatures when I was there recently.

I spent a couple of hours exploring, all the time keeping my eyes out for cuddlesome balls of fur hugging a tree.

Alas, there was not a single koala to be seen.

But a chance turnoff onto a less-travelled road changed my luck later that day.

All looked calm on the straight stretch as Steve and I chased the evening’s soft veil of light.

Spotting a bump in the distance, we slowed down.

To our amazement, it was a chubby koala smack in the middle of the road.

It looked dazed and blurry-eyed as if it had just woken up. I carefully approached to take a photo.

DSC05492
Looking dazed and in mid-thought, Kooky Koala was in no hurry to cross the road.

Just when I thought the koala would saunter across to the other side, suddenly it turned, gambolled in the opposite direction and shot up a wattle tree.

The koala clung to a branch and “posed” for me as I stood under the tree making “awww” murmurs in between camera clicks.

“Thank you, little guy”, I whispered as I returned to the car.

It looked at me, then turned its gaze towards clumps of eucalyptus trees not far away.

koala01
Koalas are excellent tree huggers.
DSC05499
Koalas are naturally photogenic. I mean, have you ever seen an ugly koala?

Here are six koala facts you may not know: (Source: https://www.savethekoala.com/about-koalas/interesting-facts)

  • Koalas love a good kip, often up to 20 hours a day. They spend most of their time sleeping because they need to conserve lots of energy digesting their toxic and fibrous diet of eucalyptus leaves.
  • Koalas have five digits on each front paw, two thumb-like. This helps them to hold firmly onto the branches and to grip their food. Two digits on their hind paws fuse together to form a grooming claw for removing ticks, for example.
koalapaws
Image source: https://www.savethekoala.com/
  • A mature male koala has a brown scent gland in the centre of its chest which it rubs on the tree trunk to mark its territory.
koalascentgland
Image source: https://www.savethekoala.com/
  • Koala is thought to mean ‘no drink’ in the Aboriginal language. Koalas normally get all the moisture they need from eucalyptus leaves except when in extreme dry conditions.
  • Like humans, koalas are the only other animal that have individual fingerprints.
  • Koalas are sensitive around their abdominal area and need something to grip onto when being picked up.  Because it is accustomed to gripping onto branches with its front paws, a koala  should not be picked up under the arms like a toddler. This makes it feel uncomfortable and vulnerable.

3 thoughts on “My close encounter with a koala (but not in a zoo)

    1. Good question, Ah Lian. I’m told the best way is to use a blanket, picking the koala up from behind by their front legs. I can imagine not an easy feat, nonetheless.

Leave a comment