The joys of being in the moment

I discovered an article on the seven habits of incredibly happy people some months ago.

Top of the list of coveted habits was to practise a life less rushed.

“Living a productive life at a comfortable pace” really jumped off the page for me.

As someone with a habit of rushing around from one thing to the next, these days I am challenging myself to walk a little slower and to breath a little easier.

Sure, achieving a comfortable rhythm can seem out of reach when many of us are finding it difficult to escape the daily grind of working to pay the bills.

But if you can find time to embrace simple moments of happiness, I believe that’s a good enough soul booster to start with.

While I still struggle to shift my gears down, I am starting to enjoy the perks of including more pauses in my daily routine.

Come, slow down with me and take a look:

DSC03938
I hovered by this shrub at the Singapore Botanic Gardens to admire the fiery coloured florettes that were a sweet magnet for bees.
DSC03979
Singapore has many places to stop and contemplate quiet moments. The water lily pond at a park in Mt Faber was a lovely place to unwind.
DSC04180
I was as fascinated by this little boy as he was with the giant toy soldier that stood tall in Singapore’s Orchard Road where the annual Christmas shop displays bring festive character to the famous shopping mile.
DSC04171
I quietly applauded this gentleman who indulged his me-time, totally unperturbed by the market’s hustle and bustle.
DSC03973
It’s not just a walk in the park when creative garden displays beckon. This one at Singapore’s popular HortPark enticed me to ponder the connection between nature and human design.
windowdisplay
I paused awhile to take in this lavishly-staged window display at a wallpaper shop in Fitzroy, Melbourne.
DSC04440
Outside this country cafe, dogs are made welcome. It would have been easy to miss this quirky sight if I had hurried along.
DSC02248
Pausing out on the deck at my father-in-law’s house one cool evening, I happened to look down and saw this little guy. A rare sight indeed where seldom a croak is heard in his garden.
DSC04505
Exploring an unassuming place on foot sometimes reveals hidden gems. This Shoe Tree in the country town of Tarrington is not immediately obvious if you are simply driving through the main drag.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The joys of being in the moment

  1. Dear Cloudchasa

    I really enjoyed this post. I look forward to many more such posts and to” living in the moment” with you.

    Socks

Leave a comment